HIRE ME!

Meet Elizabeth Bufton

Career Objective: To obtain an interior design position with commercial architecture and interiors firm specializing in sustainable, innovative, and good design.  

Elizabeth’s Resume

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY ¦ EABUFTON@GMAIL.COM

5 words that describe design to you…

1. Engaging
2. Uplifting
3. Fun
4. Indispensable
5. Evolving

3 things you can’t live without…

1. My support group (family, friends, boyfriend, Zach)
2. Travel
3. The Internet

What inspired you to be an Interior Designer?

Growing up with parents who not only constantly renovated our own house, but updated and improved others around the neighborhood that had fallen by the wayside. I remember flipping through their Architectural Digests or you could find me at my father’s side helping him hammer, lay tile, cut lumber… you name it, I loved it.

What’s your dream job?

My dream job at the moment is to be an interior designer with a large, successful and respected architectural  firm that focuses on designing beautiful and innovative spaces through eficient and sustainable means.

What kinds of projects are you passionate about working on?

I feel passionate about projects with a large degree of problem solving to be done. If the program requirements are extensive, I enjoy taking the time to find the most creative, efficient, and sustainable solution.

What famous Interior Design style do you admire the most? Why?

Modernism, and more specifically, Scandanavian modern. The clean lines, classic profiles and functionality of the furnishings are adaptable to many different scenarios and life-styles.

Where do you go for inspiration?

I subscribe to magazines such as Interior Design, Contract, and Hospitality Design, that all have great spaces with vivid photography and detailed articles. I also love to travel, where I seek out talked about restaurants, hotels, buildings, etc. around the world to get a first hand look at them.

How has being an IIDA Student Member benefited you?

The West Texas City Center has been utterly amazing and helped our Campus Center more than we could have asked for. Aside from sending a small group of us to the 2010 IIDA Student Conference in Houston where we were able to network, get our portfolios reviewed by professionals, tour local firms, and attend a design charrette; I have been able to approach them with questions and receive honest, constructive advice whenever needed.

Why should an employer hire you specifically?

I have always had an affinity for knowledge. I learn quickly, strive to excel and am open-minded with each new project and program. I grew up in a large family and have experience in large, fast-paced work environments, therefore I have learned to work well with others and collaborate effectively. I am just as able to take the role of the leader or follow directions of others.

Where can you be found?

Linked In

Portfolio

Twitter

As the current “HIRE ME” recipient, Elizabeth will be featured this month to over 13,000 IIDA Professional and Industry Members. This is including, but not limited to, the Design Matters blog, professional e-newsletter, the official IIDA website and thousands of Industry Professionals across IIDA Social Networks such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

For consideration in the next “HIRE ME” feature,
please submit this form along with a resume and a headshot
to Shannon at scallarman@iida.org


2 responses to “HIRE ME!

  1. Pingback: My Profile is featured on IIDA’s I Heart I.D. Blog ! « of Wine and Design

  2. I know our personnel department is looking to hire a registered interior designer A&D representative for our company. Contact Chuck Abel at Southwest Solutions Group.

Leave a Reply

