Passion

Here at “I <3 ID,” the official IIDA Student and Emerging Professionals blog, we’re thrilled to bring you a new series of regular guest blog posts from Colorado State University IIDA Campus Center president Kaylyn Schmer.

Hi, I’m Kaylyn. I’m a senior Interior Design major at Colorado State University. I was recently on the winning team of the first ever International Interior Design Association Student Design Charette, which is why I was asked to write this blog.

Kaylyn (far left) with her winning Student Design Charette team at NeoCon 2012

When I was asked to do this, I was thrilled! Once I tried to decide on a topic though, I hit a roadblock. I was thinking, “Ok, what do people want to read? What will be relevant to people reading this blog?” So after a lot of brainstorming it hit me. This is ridiculous. I love interior design and this is what this blog is about. Why was I so worried? I get to write about my passion!

I have always been one to follow my many passions, even as a little kid. When I was about 5 years old, I decided that I wanted to be a Glitter Teacher. I don’t know what I meant by that, but I told my parents and they bought me some little containers full of glitter, and I went to town. Glitter with glue all over paper. Glitter poured in my hair? Sure. Glitter stuck to my clothes with glue? Why not!

Well, I have not changed much from that zealous and eager five-year-old child. I still follow my passion for interior design and it has somehow infiltrated everything I do- and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

So for my first blog, I would like everyone reading to ask yourself what your passion is. Do you follow it each day? What are you doing to get closer to reaching your dreams and aspirations?

I’ll leave you with advice from my Dad. “Do what is right for you- what you love, and the rest will follow.” This advice has proved true for me and I hope it will for you too!

Welcome to the blogging team Kaylyn!

If you are interested in guest blogging for “I <3 ID,” please shoot Victoria Guerrero, Communications Intern at IIDA Headquarters an e-mail by  filling out the form below.  We’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

