Design Feature Contest Winner

Here at IIDA we’re always looking for new ways to feature design professionals & students to thousands of industry professionals, employers and peers. The idea behind our first Design Features Contest was for participants to submit one photo of a design space, project or rendering to IIDA, which we then uploaded onto our Facebook site. The photo with the most “Likes” won a special feature on our IIDA blog, newsletter, twitter, facebook and LinkedIn sites .With over 197 “Likes” our very first winner is Kelsye Hughey! See her winning design here!

What do you love about Design?

I love design’s impact on the world.  Design has the ability to change one’s environment, lifestyle, mood, buildings, and so many other things.  As a designer, I have the ability to make a difference in the world. All designers should take advantage of our ability to make positive changes as much as we can.

Where do you find inspiration?

I find inspiration in my everyday life.  When working on a project it is often hard for me to find inspiration from the computer.  When I take myself away from it and continue on my day, I’ll see an object or setting that I would have normally walked past but this time will catch my eye.  I start thinking about the lines, details, how it is used, and how I can use this as inspiration for my project.  Something will click and I’m off to the drawing board. 

Who are some of your personal style icons?

Some of my personal style icons are Frank Gehry and Coco Chanel.  Frank Gehry’s work is very inspirational and more sculptural then simply architecture to house a function.  Coco Chanel is very modern but classy at the same time.  Her work is timeless. They never go out of style.

How would you describe your own style?

My style is modern with a little taste of tradition added into the mix. 

What is your dream job?

My dream job would to be an Event Designer. 

Designing for an event is temporary and ethereal.  It makes an impact, stimulates conversation, answers programmatic and spatial needs and then it’s gone.  Then it’s on to the next project and a chance to design a new space.

Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?

In five years I see myself working with an event planning firm and working on the design team to turn dreams into reality.

When and why did you become interested in interior design?

When I was younger we moved a couple of times and when we were looking into building our houses I was always fascinated with looking at the floor plans.  I also played “The Sims” a lot which let me build and create my own houses.  I’d like to make those dreams real for myself and my clients. 

Where can you be found?

I currently attend Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina where I will graduate in 2012.  I can be found on Facebook  and Twitter. You can also reach me at hugheykm@gmail.com, and don’t forget to check out my Resume!

Leave a Reply

