Design Feature Contest Winner

Here at IIDA we’re always looking for new ways to feature design professionals & students to thousands of industry professionals, employers and peers. The idea behind our first Design Features Contest was for participants to submit one photo of a design space, project or rendering to IIDA, which we then uploaded onto our Facebook site. The photo with the most “Likes” won a special feature on our IIDA blog, newsletter, twitter, facebook and LinkedIn sites! With so many wonderful designs being submitted we have decided to feature the second place winner as well. With over 158 “Likes” is Student IIDA Member Jamie Lynn Haderlie!

Tell us about your rendering that won the first IIDA Design Features Contest.

The rendering I submitted to the contest is of a kitchen I designed as part of a project that was presented to the textile designer Angela Adams.  Each year at Utah State University a prolific designer visits the school and the students in one class are asked to create and present a project to them.  Prior to her arrival, Angela had asked my fellow Juniors and me to create spaces that abstractly represented the state of Utah.  The inspiration for the design of this kitchen came from a wintery photograph I took of a half-frozen creek surrounded by leafless trees.  Though the scenery appeared to be lifeless, I could just see the pop of color in the red snowberries that were peeking out from beneath the snowdrifts.  I chose an African blue slate for the flooring to represent the grey-blue of the creek, and selected heavy reclaimed barn wood beams and planks for the ceiling as a sort of abstraction of the bare trees.  The sliding barn-style door at the back of the room continues the theme and the backsplash above the cooktop is brightened with hand painted tiles in a berry motif.  I decided on two islands as a way to create as much workspace as possible while still maintaining the vital proximity of all major appliances.  As a further representation of the leafless fallen logs, the second island features a solid butcher-block work surface with a built in prep sink.  Also included in the kitchen, though unseen in this rendering, are an Italian bread oven and a large bakers table.  All appliances, excluding the bread oven, are Sub-Zero or Wolf and all fixtures and sinks are Kohler.

What do you love about Design?

Oh wow, that’s a loaded question.  I suppose what I love most about Design is the freedom.  I love that I don’t have to be restricted by what is considered proper or possible.  Just because I’m told something is unachievable doesn’t mean I can’t find a way to do it anyway.

Where do you find inspiration?

If I’m actively searching for inspiration I’ll do anything I can to find it.  I’ll listen to music, troll the library, wander through my hometown, or stumble around on the internet.  When something I hear or see elicits an unexpected emotion I know I’ve found it.  I just have to make a conscious effort to be aware.

Who are some of your personal style icons?

As far as people go, Barbara Barry, Angela Adams, Candice Olson, and artist and painter Amy Brown are iconic to me.  They all seem to have a strong grasp of classic beauty and elegance while simultaneously being sort of subtly innovative.  As for broader style icons I am so inspired by the historic and sometimes ancient design of other cultures and peoples.  There is a lot that can be learned from what has already been.

How would you describe your own style?

At the risk of sounding crazy I’ll call my style “Multifaceted Geocentric”.  Does that count?  Multifaceted because I love creating spaces to fit any style or time period, and geocentric because there is always some natural element that creeps into my designs.  I’m a little bit of a closet hippie.

What is your dream job?

If you’ll suffer me dreaming as big as I can, my dream job would be to work and design in Italy and Japan.  The history and culture of those two countries has long been fascinating to me and I would love to instill an appreciation for historic restoration and education in their youth.  For a little more realistic dream job, I’d simply love to work as a designer in either of those countries.

Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?

In five years I hope to be NCIDQ certified and working successfully both in the United States and Japan.  Family is also important, so hopefully I’ll have a job that will allow me time for one.

Where can you be found?

I graduated in May of last year (2010), and can be found on facebook . My student portfolio and email contact can be found at JamieHaderliePortfolio.com. Don’t forget to check out my Resume!

Leave a Reply

