Congratulations to the Winners of the Student Sustainable Design Competition!

IIDA recently caught up with the first place team that won the Student Sustainable Design Competition with their project Drexel SmartHouse to learn more about their dreams and design inspirations.

The team members include Katie Goodman, Student IIDA, Liz Kahn, Student IIDA, Jennifer Madden, Student IIDA and Sarah Martin, Student IIDA from Drexel University. Check out what they had to say!

Katie Goodman, Student IIDA                

Why Interior Design?

I have always loved architecture and design. I find the puzzle presented when transforming and recreating a space absolutely captivating. I love playing with spatial relationships and understanding the intricacies of how people use the spaces they inhabit.

3 things you can’t live without:

  • My little sister Emma.
  • My iPhone.
  • My laptop (it was out of commission for a week and I nearly died!)

Liz Kahn, Student IIDA

 What did you learn from this experience?

 The benefits of cross-disciplinary learning are awesome. Understanding the mechanical systems, exterior building materials and architectural concerns allowed us to create a dynamic interior that was relevant to the project.

What have you learned from your Interior Design education?

A lot–from extensive technical skills necessary to communicate within the industry to the importance of connecting with your audience during presentation.

What is your dream job after graduation?

I loved the interactive and educational nature of the Smarthouse!  My dream job would involve concept development and designing for children’s museums or hospitality projects. I’m also very interested in design related to company identity and branding.

Jenny Madden, Student IIDA

Describe your design style in 3 words: textured, lively, and thoughtful.

Your design icons: Charles and Ray Eames are the definition of a design icon. But, I’ve recently fallen for Steven Gambrel’s interior work, so I’ll include him as a less obvious, but deserving choice!

What are your must read design blogs? 

Dezeen

Design Sponge

Cotemaison It’s not technically a blog, nor a must read since I can’t read French, but, this is a new favorite of mine to browse for inspirational images.

Sarah Martin, Student IIDA

Why are you passionate about sustainability?

My older sister sparked a flame in my entire family about 10 years ago to be environmentally conscious. Since then I have taken what she has taught me and everything I have learned in school and tried to apply it to my everyday life. I cannot imagine living on this planet and not doing my part to protect it.

What inspires you?

As a designer I find everything around me an inspiration. Particularly nature, with its organic shapes, variety of textures, and never ending colors. 


2 responses to “Congratulations to the Winners of the Student Sustainable Design Competition!

  1. Congratulations! We saw this posted on Facebook from the IIDA and thought we would take the opportunity to congratulate young designers in the making. We admire your passion to pursue your dreams with integrity! Keep up the great work!

  2. HI

Leave a Reply

